Home     •  Our Vineyard •  Genealogy •   Opening hours     •  Our Wines •  Wines Tasting •   Find us
Version française •  Culture of the vine in Quebec   •   Type of vines   •   The Cycle of the vine •  Photos •  Contact-us  •  Bergerie sur le Lac
 

 

Women! I drink to you who laugh at the path Where the Ideal calls me by opening its rosy arms;

Femmes ! je bois à vous qui riez du chemin où l'Idéal m'appelle en ouvrant ses bras roses;


Émile Nelligan (La romance du vin -1899)

 

Our type of vines

 

The vine is a long-lived and woody climbing plant. From a systematic point of view, the vine is a plant with seed (Spermatophyte). It forms part of the family of the Vitacea. The European vine, cultivated since millennia, gave rise to thousands of cultivars. In more of the ' Nobles' species, it is necessary to add a growing number of hybrid vines (Vitis X) resulting from intentional crossings or between different species.

The vine is a plant of full sun. Ideally it should be exposed from sun rise to sun down.

The temperature is a crucial factor in the culture of the vine, particularly in Quebec where we are in extreme Northern limit of this culture on the American continent. The quantity of heat (degrees day) available during the season of growth will determine if the fruits of such cultivar will have time to mature at a given place.

The minimal temperatures of winter will also be determining the choice of the cultivars and the methods of cultures. The type of vines known as Vitis vinifera are damaged by cold starting from -15°C. It is thus essential to protect them, most convenient being to butt them underneath 45 centimetres of ground before the winter. The measured minimal temperature last winter (2005-2006) inside the hillock was between - 10 °C and - 11°C (we had three termometers in three different places) even if the cover of snow was almost inexistant per moments...

At the opposite spectrum, certain American and French rustic hybrid species can tolerate cold oscillating between -15°C and -28°C without major problems. They could be led high above ground without the fruit-bearing buds being damaged by the cold.


The vine can be cultivated in several types of ground provided that it is well drained. Stagnant water is mortal for the vine. One recommends a slope of at least 2 %. On our premises the rather heavy ground, mainly made of drifts called ' till', is composed of sandy clay sediments of marine and lake origin. These very fertile clays are grey and red and can have a depth of 18 to 25 meters by places.

The vines are very easy to multiply. However, whatever the method used, cuttings, grafts, layering, it should be remembered that vines are unable to form adventitious buds. It is necessary thus obligatorily that the section being used for the multiplication has a bud at least so that the plant develops a stem. While using the method by cloning, we cut a vine shoot with at least three eyes and we hide at least two in the ground as we plant them. If the buds are alive at the time setting the ground, (in spring) you will have during the summer a small young vine identical to the seedling mother; a clone. For the grafted seedlings, it is a little more complex and lengthy to be explained here...

 

Vitis Vinifera

( From - 15°C the fruit-bearing buds die )

 

Chardonnay ( 1,000 plants )

Vitis Vinifera, the noble type of vine of the white wines, Chardonnay is the white type of vine most known around the whole world. This type of vine is present in the majority of the countries where vines are cultivated, and its name is borrowed from a village of the Mâconnais from where it would come! It is also one of the principal grapes at the base of Champagne, combined with Pinot Meunier or Pinot Noir.

The Chardonnay grape is brilliant and gilded. It makes thick and fine wines, traditionally dry, among the greatest of white wines. We assemble it with our Geisenheim grapes to make our dry white wine, our sparkling wine just as for our ice wine. This type of vine is sensitive to fungus diseases. With the Riesling, it is the noble type of vine most resistant to cold with a tolerance until -18°C without winter protection (State de New York). We protect this vine with a combination of straw and or manure (with straw mixed in from our sheep's herd) and a light ridging of soil of 25 cm.

 


Sauvignon Blanc ( 500 plants )

Vitis Vinifera, apparently genetically derived from the Cabernet Sauvignon, it is the aromatic type of vine most famous of the area of Bordeaux. The bunch is small, compacts and resembles that of the Riesling, punctuated with black spots on the bays. Of aromatic and light savour, the must is sweet with a very good acidity.

Very sensitive to fungus diseases, the bunches mature very late; that would make it an excellent candidate for ice wine. It is what we try to do with this type of vine, which produces in the area of Bordeaux the famous Sauternes; the liqueur-like white wine unequal in the world. This type of vine does not resist the cold winters as well as Riesling and can undergo serious frost wounds starting from -15°C. We protect this vine with a combination of straw and or manure (with straw mixed in) and a light ridging of soil of 25 cm.

 


Pinot Blanc ( 500 plants )

Vitis Vinifera of Alsatian name, at the origin Pinot Blanc is a mutation of the Pinot Gris (Pinot Gray), a type of vine, which is cultivated only in Alsace today.

The bunches are small, cylindrical, compact and with the woody stalks, very hard; the bays are small, spherical, clear green to yellow. Type of vine with early spring start, it is very resistant to the cold, and survives until - 18°C, which in fact makes it a very good candidate for our rigorous climate.

Alone, it gives a not very aromatic wine, and it must be assembled with other type of vines. We have much hope for this type of vine... We protect this vine with a combination of straw and or manure (with straw mixed in) and a light ridging of soil of 25 cm.

 


Riesling ( 2,000 plants )

Vitis Vinifera, the Riesling is the great noble type of vine of Alsace and Germany. Used alone in wines, it is the vine of high-class wines of Alsace. It also produces wines coming from late grape harvest or for eiswein (ice wine) in Germany.

It is the type of vine at the origin of the ice wine, which was found accidentally by a vine grower who had pressed in winter the grapes which had not been gathered by the harvesters in autumn... forgotten by the grape-pickers! The Riesling can give very different wines according to the soils and it can age magnificently.

Most tolerant to cold of all Noble type of vines, the Riesling vine can tolerate temperatures going to -20°C (State de New York). In spite of certain sensitivity to fungus diseases, we put much hope in this type of vine... It seems to be well adapted to our climate. If there is a variety of Vitis Vivifera, which can survive and give good output in the South of Quebec, it is for sure the Riesling! We protect this vine with a combination of straw and or manure (with straw mixed in) and a light ridging of soil of 25 cm.

 

Pinot Noir ( 500 plants )

Vitis Vinifera, one of greatest type of red vines of France if not the greatest, the Pinot variety could be at the origin of all the noble species of Europe, according to Jacques Lavallé, Histoire et statistique de la vigne et des grands vins de la Côte d'Or, published in 1855. One would find descriptions of this type of vine by the Romans two centuries before J-C.


Grape with black skin, but with amber juice, slightly transparent, this type of vine is used to make out the best red wines of Burgundy, just as the greatest of Champagnes. The bunches of this variety are small, cylindrical, compact of a bluish or purple black dark colour.

Type of vine of most general-purpose, one can convert it in to white wine, Blanc de Noir, in to Rosé or in to Red wine. We combine the Pinot Noir grapes with our Baco Noir and Ste-Croix grapes to make our red wine. We also made out a pale coloured ice wine, a special Blanc de Noir 'iced'.


This type of vine with early spring shoots start is very well resistant to winter cold, up to - 18°C, but is sensitive to mildew, odium and the grey rot. Late Aoûtement (formation of cork and lignification of the branches), one must thus make a rather severe cut of the foliage in summer (coupe au vert). We protect this vine with a combination of straw and or manure (with straw mixed in) and a light ridging of soil of 25 cm.

 


Cabernet Franc ( 500 plants )

Vitis Vinifera, type of vine of Bordeaux origin and of the Loire, the Cabernet Franc is less coloured and less tannic than the Cabernet Sauvignon. It is characterized by its aromatic smoothness, its spiced sweet pepper flavours, its structure and its good aptitude for ageing.

Noble red type of vine most resistant to the cold, the Cabernet Franc can survive our cold winter until - 19°C. It is left without protection in the State of New York where it gives very good results.

This vine is sensitive to fungus diseases, like many other Vitis Vinifera, but since it is very resistant to our cold winters, it remains an excellent candidate for our climate in the southwest region of Quebec.

Late aoûtement (formation of cork and lignification of the branches), one must thus make a rather severe cut of the foliage in summer (coupe au vert). We protect this vine with a combination of straw and or manure (with straw mixed in) and a light ridging of soil of 25 cm.

 

Semi-rustic vines

( From - 25°C the fruit-bearing buds die )

 

 

Baco Noir ( Folle Blanche X Riparia ) ( 3,000 plants )

Baco Noir is only the vinifera-riparia to be massively marketed. It results from the crossing made with Folle Blanche type of vine and the riparia Grand Glabre created in 1902 by François Baco, famous French hybrid maker, who gave it his name. The strength of this type of vine is incredible and it must be cut very severely to decrease its productivity. It is not very sensitive to fungus diseases and tends to ripen tardily, which is not a problem in the region of Rigaud.

Baco Noir gives a dark and dyer juice with good sugar rates, 22 Brix ( % of sugar) is often reached at the beginning of October, very ' foxy' when transformed in to wine alone, and with also an acidity often too high for a red wine. One must allow malo-lactic fermentation to occur, which decreases the acidity of the wine slightly. It is not uncommon to ' blend ' it with another type of vine. We assemble it with types of grapes like Ste-Croix and Pinot Noir. Baco Noir (equivalent of Seyval Blanc for its hardiness) resists very well during our winters, region of Rigaud, without any protection. However, we install a windscreen fence at the edge of the vineyard to slow down and choke the dominant winds from the West and the North.

 


Geisenheim ( Riesling X Chancellor ) ( 2,000 plants )

This type of vine, the GM318, is a hybrid derived from Vitis Vinifera Riesling and Riparia Chancellor created in 1957. Moderately tolerant to our winters without protection (the equivalent of the type of vines Black Baco and Seyval), Geisenheim is extremely sensitive to fungus diseases like Mildew, grey rot, Botrytis.

It gives an interesting grape when collected at the end of September (Region of Rigaud). The skin of the grape takes an orange colour when very ripe; the must reaching rates of sugar bordering the 21 to 22 Brix with light acidity. We combine this type of vine with Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc to give it more body.

This type of vine (equivalent to Seyval Blanc for its cold hardiness) resists very, Region of Rigaud, without any winter protection. However, we install a windscreen fence around the vineyard to slow down and choke the dominant winds of the West and the North.

 

 

RUSTIC VINES

( From - 35°C the fruit-bearing buds die )

 

 

Ste-Croix: (ES 114 x Seyval blanc) x (Minnessota 78 x Seneca) ( 1,000 plants )

This type of vine has hasty maturity, very fertile and vigorous, and is fungus resistant. It is necessary to avoid overloading it, because the 'aoûtement' will be likely to be difficult. This type of vine is very winter resistant without any protection.

With the shoots falling down, one must thus cut it high on cord at the head (1,5m) and let the foliage go down again. Its productivity is very abundant on our clay soil. It gives a coloured wine with low acidity.

One can use it for table grapes or for winemaking. We blend it with Baco Noir, which tend to have a too high rate of acidity, and with Pinot Noir for the smoothness and the freshness of its bouquet.


 

 

Home     •  Our Vineyard •  Genealogy •   Opening hours     •  Our Wines •  Wines Tasting •   Find us
Version française •  Culture of the vine in Quebec   •   Type of vines   •   The Cycle of the vine •  Photos •  Contact-us  •  Bergerie sur le Lac

Accueil     •  Notre Vignoble •  Généalogie •   Heures d'ouverture     •  Nos Vins •  Dégustations •   Pour nous trouver •  Bergerie sur le Lac
English Version •  La culture de la vigne au Québec   •   Nos cépages   •   Le Cycle de la vigne •  Photos •  Contactez-nous  
 

 

Femmes ! je bois à vous qui riez du chemin où l'Idéal m'appelle en ouvrant ses bras roses;


Émile Nelligan (La romance du vin -1899)

 

Nos cépages

 

La vigne est une plante grimpante vivace et ligneuse. D'un point de vue systématique, la vigne est une plante à graine (Spermatophyte). Elle fait partie de la famille des Vitacées. La vigne européenne, cultivée depuis des millénaires, a donné naissance à des milliers de cultivars. En plus des espèces 'Nobles', il faut ajouter un nombre grandissant de vignes hybrides (Vitis X) issues de croisements intentionnels ou entre des espèces différentes.

La vigne est une plante de plein soleil. Idéalement elle devrait être exposée du lever au coucher.

La température est un facteur crucial dans la culture de la vigne, particulièrement au Québec où nous sommes à la limite Nord de cette culture sur le continent américain. La quantité de chaleur (degré jour) disponible durant la saison de croissance déterminera si les fruits de tel cultivar auront le temps de mûrir à un endroit donné.

Les températures minimales de l'hiver vont aussi être déterminantes dans le choix des cultivars et des méthodes de cultures. Les cépages issus de Vitis vinifera sont endommagés à partir de -15°C. II est donc essentiel de les protéger, le plus commode étant de les buter sous 45 centimètres de sol avant l'hiver. À La Romance du Vin nous protégeons nos vitis avec une combinaison de paille et de fumier de mouton à demi composté, le tout recouvert d'un léger buttage d'au plus 25 cm. La température minimale mesurée l'hiver dernier (2005-2006) à l'intérieur de la butte se situait entre - 10 °C et - 11°C ( nous avions trois termomètres en trois endroits différents ) même si la couverture de neige fut presque nulle par moments...

À l'opposé certaines espèces rustiques américaines et hybrides françaises peuvent tolérer les froids oscillants entre -15°C et -28°C sans problème majeur. Elles pourront être conduites en taille haute et hiverner au-dessus de la neige sans que les bourgeons fructifères ne soient endommagés par le froid.


La vigne peut se cultiver dans plusieurs types de sol pourvu qu'il soit bien égoutté. L'eau stagnante est mortelle pour la vigne. On recommande une pente d'au minimum 3 %. Chez nous le sol assez lourd, principalement des dépôts glaciaires appelés 'till', est composé de sédiments d'argile sablonneux d'origine marine et lacustre. Ces argiles très fertiles sont rouge et gris et peuvent avoir une profondeur de 18 à 25 mètres par endroits.

Les vignes sont très faciles à multiplier. Cependant quelle que soit la méthode utilisée, boutures, greffes, marcottage, il faut se rappeler que les vignes sont incapables de former des bourgeons adventifs. Il faut donc obligatoirement que la section servant à la multiplication possède au minimum un bourgeon pour que la plante développe une tige. En utilisant la méthode par clônage, nous coupons un sarment avec au moins trois yeux et nous en enfouissons au moins deux dans le sol. Si les bourgeons sont toujours vivants lors de la mise en terre, (au printemps) vous aurez au cours de l'été un petit plant de vigne identique au plant mère; un clône. Pour les plants greffés, c'est un peu plus complexe et long à expliquer...

 

Vitis Vinifera

( À partir de - 15°C les bourgeons fructifères meurent )

 

Chardonnay ( 3,000 plants )

Vitis Vinifera, le cépage noble des vins blancs, le Chardonnay est le cépage blanc le plus connu dans le monde entier. Ce cépage est présent dans la plupart des pays où l'on cultive la vigne, et son nom est emprunté à un village du Mâconnais d'où il viendrait ! Il est également l'un des raisins principaux à la base du Champagne, combiné au Pinot Meunier ou au Pinot Noir.

Le raisin Chardonnay est brillant et doré. Il fait des vins épais et fins, traditionnellement secs, parmi les plus grands des vins blancs. Nous l'assemblons avec le Geisenheim pour faire notre vin blanc sec, notre vin mousseux de même que pour notre vin de glace. Ce cépage est sensible aux maladies fongiques. Avec le Riesling, c'est le cépage noble le plus résistant au froid avec une tolérance allant jusqu'à -18°C sans protection hivernale (État de NewYork). Nous protégeons cette vigne avec une combinaison de paille et un léger buttage de 25 cm.

 


Sauvignon Blanc ( 500 plants )

Vitis Vinifera, apparemment dérivé génétiquement du Cabernet Sauvignon, c'est le cépage aromatique le plus renommé de la région de Bordeaux. La grappe est petite, compacte et ressemble un peu à celle du Riesling, avec des baies ponctuées de points noirs. De saveur aromatique et légère, le moût est sucré avec une très bonne acidité.

Très sensible aux maladies fongiques, les grappes mûrissent très tardivement; ce qui en ferait un excellent candidat pour le vin de glace. C'est ce que nous tentons de faire avec ce cépage qui produit dans la région bordelaise les fameux Sauternes, le vin blanc liquoreux le plus prisé dans le monde. Ce cépage ne résiste pas aussi bien au froid et peut subir de graves blessures hivernales à partir de -15°C. Nous protégeons cette vigne avec une combinaison de paille et un léger buttage de 25 cm.

 


Pinot Blanc ( 500 plants )

Vitis Vinifera d'appellation alsacienne, à l'origine le Pinot Blanc est une mutation du pinot gris, un cépage qui n'est cultivée qu'en Alsace aujourd'hui.

Les grappes sont petites, cylindriques, compactes et aux pédoncules ligneux, très durs; les baies sont petites, sphériques, vert clair à jaune. Cépage au débourrement précoce, il est très résistant au froid, et survit jusqu'à - 18°C, ce qui en fait un très bon candidat pour notre climat rigoureux.

Seul, il donne un vin peu aromatique, et doit être assemblé à d'autres cépages. Nous fondons beaucoup d'espoir en ce cépage… Nous protégeons cette vigne avec une combinaison de paille et un léger buttage de 25 cm.

 


Riesling ( 3,000 plants )

Vitis Vinifera, le Riesling est le grand cépage noble d'Alsace et d'Allemagne. Vinifié seul, il fait partie de l'encépagement des grands vins d'Alsace. Il produit également des vins provenant de vendanges tardives ou de glace en Allemagne.

C'est le cépage à l'origine du vin de glace, Icewein, qui fut trouvé accidentellement par un vigneron qui avait pressé en hiver des raisins qui n'avaient pas été vendangés à l'automne…oubliés par les vendangeurs ! Le riesling peut donner des vins très différents selon les terroirs et il peut vieillir magnifiquement.

Le plus tolérant au froid de tous les cépages Nobles, le Riesling peut tolérer des températures allant jusqu'à -20°C (État de NewYork). Malgré une certaine sensibilité aux maladies fongiques, nous fondons beaucoup d'espoir en ce cépage… Il semble être des plus adaptés à notre climat. S'il y a une variété de Vitis Vivifera qui peut survivre et donner de bons rendement dans le Sud du Québec, c'est bien le Riesling ! Nous protégeons cette vigne avec une combinaison de paille et un léger buttage de 25 cm.

 

Pinot Noir ( 2,000 plants )

Vitis Vinifera,l'un des plus grands cépages de France sinon le plus grand, la variété Pinot pourrait être à l'origine de toutes les espèces nobles d'Europe, selon Jacques Lavallé, Histoire et statistique de la vigne et des grands vins de la Côte d'Or publié en 1855. On retrouverait des descriptions de ce cépage par les Romains deux siècles avant J-C.


Raisin à peau noire, mais à jus ambré, légèrement transparent, ce cépage sert à élaborer les meilleurs vins rouges de Bourgogne, de même que les plus grands Champagnes. Les grappes de cette variété sont petites, cylindriques, compactes d'un noir bleuté ou violet foncé.

Cépage des plus polyvalents, on peut le vinifier en blanc, Blanc de Noir, en rosé ou en vin rouge. Nous combinons les raisins Pinot Noir avec le Baco Noir et le Ste-Croix pour faire notre vin rouge. Nous avons aussi élaboré un Vin de Glace ambré, une espèce de Blanc de Noir 'glacé'.


Cette vigne au débourrement précoce résiste bien aux froids hivernaux, jusqu'à - 18°C, mais elle est sensible au mildiou, à l'oïdium et à la pourriture grise.
Aoûtement tardif, on doit donc faire une coupe au vert assez sévère. Nous protégeons cette vigne avec une combinaison de paille et un léger buttage de 25 cm.

 


Cabernet Franc ( 1,000 plants ) et 1,500 Cabernet Sauvignon

Vitis Vinifera, cépage d'origine bordelaise et de la Loire, le Cabernet Franc est moins coloré et moins tannique que le Cabernet Sauvignon. Il se distingue par sa finesse aromatique, ses arômes épicés de poivron, sa structure et sa bonne aptitude au vieillissement.

Cépage rouge noble le plus résistant au froid, le Cabernet Franc peut survivre à nos froids hivernaux jusqu'à - 19°C. Il est laissé sans protection dans l'État de New York ou il donne de très bons résultats.

Cette vigne est sensible aux maladies fongiques, comme les autres Vitis Vinifera, mais comme elle est très résistante au froid, elle demeure un excellent candidat pour notre climat du sud du Québec.

Aoûtement tardif, on doit donc faire une coupe au vert assez sévère. Nous protégeons cette vigne avec une combinaison de paille et un léger buttage de 25 cm.

 

VIGNES SEMI-RUSTIQUES

( À partir de - 25°C les bourgeons fructifères meurent )

 

 

Baco Noir ( Folle Blanche X Riparia ) ( 3,000 plants au départ)

Le Baco noir est le seul vinifera-riparia a avoir été commercialisé massivement. Il est issu du croisement fait avec le cépage Folle Blanche et par le riparia Grand Glabre créé en 1902 par François Baco, célèbre hybridateur français, qui lui a donné son nom. La vigueur de ce cépage est incroyable et il doit être taillé très sévèrement pour diminuer sa productivité. Il est peu sensible aux maladies fongiques et a tendance à aoûter tardivement, ce qui n'est pas un probème dans la région de Rigaud.

Il donne un jus très teinturier avec de bons taux de sucre, 22 Brix est souvent atteint début octobre, très 'foxé' lorsque vinifié seul, et avec aussi une acidité souvent trop élevée pour un vin rouge. On doit favoriser la fermentation malo-lactique, ce qui diminue légèrement l'acidité du vin. Il n'est pas mauvais de le 'couper' avec un autre cépage. Nous l'assemblons avec les cépages Ste-Croix et Pinot noir. Ce cépage ( équivalent au Seyval Blanc pour sa résistance au gel) résiste bien à nos hivers, région de Rigaud, sans protection hivernale. Cependant, nous installons une clôture brise-vent en bordure du vignoble pour ralentir et étouffer les vents dominants de l'Ouest et du Nord.

 


Geisenheim ( Riesling X Chancellor ) ( 2,000 plants au départ)

Ce cépage, le GM318, est un hybride dérivé du Vitis Vinifera Riesling et du Riparia Chancellor élaboré en 1957. Modérément tolérant à nos hivers sans protection (l'équivalent des cépages Baco Noir et Seyval ), le Geisenheim est extrêmement sensible au maladie fongiques comme le Mildiou, la pourriture grise, le Botrytis.

Il donne un raisin intéressant lorsque récolté fin septembre (Région de Rigaud ). La peau du raisin prend alors des teintes orangées lorsque très mûr, le moût atteignant des taux de sucre avoisinant les 21 à 22 Brix avec une légère acidé. Nous vinifions ce cépage avec le Chardonnay et le Sauvignon Blanc pour lui donner plus de corps.

Ce cépage ( équivalent au Seyval Blanc pour sa résistance au gel) résiste bien à nos hivers, région de Rigaud, sans protection hivernale. Cependant, nous installons une clôture brise-vent en bordure du vignoble pour ralentir et étouffer les vents dominants de l'Ouest et du Nord.

 

 

VIGNES RUSTIQUES

( À partir de - 35°C les bourgeons fructifères meurent )

 

 

Ste-Croix: (ES 114 x Seyval blanc) x (Minnessota 78 x Seneca) ( 1,000 plants )

Cépage à maturité hâtive ,très fertile et vigoureux, il résiste bien aux maladies fongiques. Il faut tailler au vert fréquemment pour éviter de le surcharger, car l'aoûtement risquera d'être difficile. Ce cépage résiste très bien à nos hivers (Rigaud) sans protection.

Au port retombant , on doit donc le tailler haut sur cordon en tête (1,5m) et laisser le feuillage redescendre. Sa productivité est très abondante sur notre sol argileux. Il donne un vin coloré et très peu acide. On peut l'utiliser comme raisin de table ou pour la fabrication du vin.

Nous l'utilisons pour l'assemblage d'un vin rouge que nous élaborons avec le cépage Baco Noir, qui a tendance à avoir un taux d'acidité trop élevé, et avec le Pinot Noir pour la finesse et la fraicheur de son bouquet.


 

 

Accueil     •  Notre Vignoble •  Généalogie •   Heures d'ouverture     •  Nos Vins •  Dégustations •   Pour nous trouver •  Bergerie sur le Lac
English Version •  La culture de la vigne au Québec   •   Nos cépages   •   Le Cycle de la vigne •  Photos •  Contactez-nous